It's time to shine the light

Welcome to the 2022 BUCS Awards. It has been a privilege to witness sport come back to life and the return of competition. For this, we must thank the staff, volunteers, NGBs and partners, but most of all, our students, who, from the very first pass to the final whistle, played with confidence, heart and passion, both on and off the pitch.

It’s clear that the university sport spirit is burning brighter than ever, and these awards will celebrate the incredible achievements, contributions and effort of the entire higher education sport sector.

We hope you’ve enjoyed the biggest and best BUCS season there’s ever been, and I look forward to sharing in these celebrations at our annual Awards.


Homepage signature


Vince Mayne
BUCS Chief Executive Officer

Digital Engagement Award, sponsored by Playwaze

This award recognises a sports department or institution who have been creative in their digital engagement; whether that be a digital event, running virtual challenges, or other innovative ways they've supported students and staff digitally. It celebrates the improvement of awareness, engagement or participants using digital marketing.


University of Nottingham

Loughborough University

Cardiff Metropolitan University

Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Outgoing

This award recognises an individual’s commitment to their club or sports department over their time at university, be it as a player, as a committee member or a volunteer. It is awarded to a final year student who have shown an outstanding contribution either through performance or participation.


Mia Elias, University of Portsmouth

Abd Al-Rahman Al-Remal, University of Edinburgh

Peter Boyes, University of Nottingham

Stewart Humble, University of Oxford

James Coffin, University of Exeter

Coach of the Year, sponsored by Catapult

This award recognises the outstanding contribution of a coach who has ensured that players’ mental and physical health remained a priority over the last year. It recognises everyone who has a coaching role; whether they be students, volunteers or paid coaching staff.


Chris Geddes, University of Stirling

Andi Manley, Loughborough University

Natasha Hunt, Hartpury University

John Armstrong, Queen's University Belfast

Jon Tate, University of Birmingham

Unsung Hero

Celebrates a member of staff at a BUCS member institution who has worked tirelessly to support student sport at any level in the last year.


Hannah Campbell, University of Edinburgh

Daniel Cox, University of Worcester

Maddy Young, Canterbury Christ Church University

Paul Johnson, Leeds Beckett University

John McKirdy, University of Nottingham

Diversity and Inclusion Award, sponsored by Beyond Equality

This award celebrates a BUCS member institution or individual club that has run a successful campaign that highlights their activities, programmes and opportunities are inclusive and accessible to all students.


University of Nottingham Sport

University of Leeds Boat Club

University of Oxford Swimming

Nottingham Trent University Sport

Team UCL

A.D. Munrow Award

Celebrates a remarkable individual who has made a significant contribution to BUCS and/or university sport and has been instrumental in supporting, growing and developing university sport and physical activity over a sustained period.


Dan Porter Award

This award celebrates an individual or group who have faced and overcome adversity or disadvantage to positively impact others within university sport and physical activity. The individual or group will have demonstrated a remarkable sense of character to achieve, motivate and inspire.


Women's Rugby, University of the West of England

Alice Hopkins and Women's Football Club, University of Worcester

Emily Bridges, University of Nottingham

Sam Gilbert, Cardiff Metropolitan University

Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Outgoing

Celebrates the domestic or international success of a student studying at a BUCS member institution. The award recognises the highest possible standard of competition achieved.


Nike Lorenz, University of Nottingham

Grace Harvey, University of Manchester

Melissa Hexter, Imperial College London

Louise Hansson, Loughborough University

Isabel Brider, Brunel University

Club of the Year, sponsored by Take That Photo

Celebrates a club that has demonstrated a commitment to club development, engagement and support of members, that has resulted in improving the university sport experience. This award is a club award focusing on development achievements and not specifically on performance success.


Keele University KDS Karate

University of Oxford Rugby League

Imperial College Cricket

University of Exeter Tennis

Team of the Year, sponsored by New Balance

Celebrates the competitive achievement of a student team competing in a BUCS or FISU competition that has excelled, been unbeaten, broken records or otherwise achieved ground-breaking success within their sport.


Netball 1s, University of Hertfordshire

Men's Rugby Union 1s, Durham University

Performance Cycling, Loughborough University

Men's Waterpolo 1s, University of Edinburgh

Student Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by NSE

Celebrates a student volunteer who has contributed to university and/or community work. This can include working in domestic or international competitions or performance or participation driven projects and programmes.

This is a regional award, with regional winners forming the shortlist for the national award.


Participation Programme of the Year, sponsored by Technogym

Celebrates a programme that has actively improved the provision to for their students, staff and community with outstanding new participation opportunities.


NHS Volunteering Project, University of Leeds

UoN Intramural Sport, University of Nottingham

Let's Do Leicester, University of Leicester

Football Unites, University of Hull